Selectors Exclude 3 Top-Performers of QeA Trophy from 1st Test Squad

Pakistan cricket selectors have confirmed a 17-player squad who will be available for selection for the first Test against South Africa, which will begin on Tuesday. The remaining three players will continue to be part of the squad and will feature in warm-up and training sessions at the National Stadium.


Inzamam Criticizes New Chief Selector for Haris Rauf’s Selection in Tests

The playing line-up with now be finalized by the captain in consultation with the head coach.

The 17-player squad is:

Openers – Abid Ali (Central Punjab) and Imran Butt (Balochistan)

Middle-order batsmen – Azhar Ali (Central Punjab), Babar Azam (captain, Central Punjab), Fawad Alam (Sindh), and Saud Shakeel (Sindh)

All-rounders – Faheem Ashraf (Central Punjab) and Mohammad Nawaz (Northern)


PCB Reveals Commentary & Broadcast Teams for South Africa Series

Wicketkeepers – Mohammad Rizwan (vice-captain, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa) and Sarfaraz Ahmed (Sindh)

Spinners – Nauman Ali (Northern), Sajid Khan (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa) and Yasir Shah (Balochistan)

Fast bowlers – Haris Rauf (Northern), Hasan Ali (Central Punjab), Shaheen Shah Afridi (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), and Tabish Khan (Sindh)

Those excluded from the original 20-man squad are Khyber Pakhtunkhwa’s Kamran Ghulam, Sindh’s Saud Shakeel, and Southern Punjab’s Agha Salman.

What are your thoughts on the squad? Let us know in the comments section.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

KP Launches First-Ever 24/7 Toll-Free Helpline for Tourists

PCB Signs Another Broadcast Deal With Sony Networks India