India Announces Squad for World Test Championship Final Against Australia

Looking to go one better than their final defeat in 2021, India have put forward a 15-player group ahead of the ICC World Test Championship Final 2023.

Middle-order batter Ajinkya Rahane has earned a recall to the squad, having not played a Test match since India’s tour of South Africa over a year ago.

Shreyas Iyer, who had taken Rahane’s spot, misses out through a back injury. There was also no room for Suryakumar Yadav.

Spinners Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel all made the squad, while Shardul Thakur, Mohammad Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav and left-armer Jaydev Unadkat are the quick bowlers of the group.

Jasprit Bumrah misses out as he continues his rehabilitation from a back injury.

Rahane played the 2021 final of the World Test Championship, making 49 and 15 in the defeat to New Zealand.

India take on Australia for the World Test Championship mace from June 7 at The Oval in London.

Here is complete squad:

Rohit Sharma (c)Shubman GillCheteshwar PujaraVirat KohliAjinkya Rahane
K L RahulKS Bharat (wk)Ravichandran AshwinRavindra JadejaAxar Patel
Shardul ThakurMohammad ShamiMohammed SirajUmesh YadavJaydev Unadkat

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

    Strict Action Ordered Against Illegal Parking in Lahore

    You Can Finally Use One WhatsApp Account on Multiple Phones